🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Active proposal but client deleted job po...
Page options
cristina-diana
Community Member

Active proposal but client deleted job post

Hello everyone!

I'm new to Upwork and I need a bit of help.

I submitted a proposal and the client contacted me, asking if I'm interested in the job. I said yes and she said she would contact me when the project starts. The proposal appears under the "Active proposals" tab, and the client deleted the job post. Does this mean that she will hire me? Or is it still possible for the job to be cancelled and for me not to get hired for this job?

Thank you and have a wonderful day!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Cristina-Diana:

Job posts and contracts are not the same thing.

A client may delete a job post and still hire you.

She may hire you, and then delete the job post.

Or she may delete the job post, and send you a direct invitation using a job post created specifically for you.

She could make a job post private and then then invite only you to apply to the job.

There are many possibilities.

My advice to you is this:

Do not spend too much time on this. If she wants to hire you, she needs to come to you. And she needs to do everything the right way. That means she sends you a HIRE offer, which will result in you having the opportunity to ACCEPT an actual Upwork contract.

When you accept an actual Upwork contract, you will see the contract listed on your page here:

Upwork -> My Jobs -> My Jobs

If you do not see the contract listed there, then you DO NOT work for this client.

If it is a fixed-price contract, then you only work on a milestone that is FULLY FUNDED.

If this is an hourly contract, make sure that you see that she is "payment-verified."

If you don't see these things, then you politely tell her what you need to see and you wait for her to make it happen before you start work.

Come back here and ask if you have questions.

View solution in original post