🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Adding Bank Details of someone else instead o...
Page options
raban_ghoosh
Community Member

Adding Bank Details of someone else instead of mine

Hi respected Upwork Community!

I am new at upwork and feeling very lucky that I got my first job within 2 days !

So I want to know, is it possible that if I want to add bank account of my brother or father to get paid? as I have not my own bank account yet ?

Thanks

15 REPLIES 15
petra_r
Community Member

@Nasir M wrote:

I am new at upwork and feeling very lucky that I got my first job within 2 days !

So I want to know, is it possible that if I want to add bank account of my brother or father to get paid? as I have not my own bank account yet ?

Congrats on your first joand this is the perfect time for you to open your own bank account, because you can NOT add someone else's .

Your withdrawal method must be your own and in your own name.

Thank you so much for Quick assistance !

a691b0ae
Community Member

What if it got long to open a bank account? Is this affect our winning jobs or status of profile?

zelomi
Community Member

It is not possible. 

I had a similar issue, and they only way for this to be possible is for them to add your name to their bank account. If you are a second user of any of those accounts (your name appears somewhere) then it will be fine. Otherwise it won't.

VladimirG
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Nasir,

Sorry about not responding to your question yesterday, I'll just officially confirm freelancers are required to use an account in their own name when setting up their withdrawal method.

~ Vladimir
Upwork

These questions always make me laugh. Why would someone work hard, earn money, and want to send that money into someone else's bank account?