🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Advice on a client
Page options
3b9df6d9
Community Member

Advice on a client

Hello everyone,

I am very new to the freelancing world and wanted you advice on a matter. I received my first gig on here within a few hours of signing up and sending out proposals. The gig involves writing articles about video games. They didn’t specify the length or volume, and so I applied within their budget.

Afterwards, they sent me a message linking me to move communications to email, saying that for $25 they expect five articles, each within three days. In exchange, they will give me a five star review as well.

They asked me to sign an NDA agreement form before 10pm my time, yet sent it via email at 10:15pm. I’ve signed up to become an article blogger on their website now but just wanted to confirm as a complete newcomer if this sounds off to any of you and if so, what advice you’d offer from here?

Thanks in advance.
ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hana I wrote:

Hi Preston, 

Thank you for your reply. 

Having read through your message, it seems like I have not been 'hired' yet either. The job is still under the active proposals section and is not yet in My Jobs. Should I contact the client regarding this? 

No, don't do that. Thank your lucky stars that spared you from a very bad experience. Don't do any work, never contact them again. 

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
prestonhunter
Community Member

Hana:

You have already been hired.

You know this because when you look here:

Upwork -> My Jobs -> My Jobs

...You can see the job listing.

When you click on the job listing, you are able to see that $25 is funded in escrow.

$25 appears in the "Work in progress" box when you go here:

Upwork -> Reports -> Overview

re: "...what advice you’d offer from here?"

It looks like everything is fine for you to proceed.