🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Applying for Upwork - Requirements unclea...
Page options
110c1ff5
Community Member

Applying for Upwork - Requirements unclear.

Hi, I would like to know if there are clear guidelines somewhere that explains why or why not an applicant is accepted.

I have 8+ years of experience in my industry. And I am successful on other platforms (5/5 stars on Fiverr with over 30 different clients).  But Upwork rejected my application. There is no indication why in their email or which part of my application I should improve, and I find that a bit insulting.. I completed my profile at 100%. Could anyone help me to know what I should do so that my account get approved.

Thank you very much.

11 REPLIES 11
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Other freelancers here have claimed Upwork only accepts a very tiny fraction of the new freelancer applications it receives each week.

Your skillset might have just been so similar to so many other freelancers already registered with Upwork that Upwork didn't think adding you would have been beneficial to clients who list jobs on Upwork.

110c1ff5
Community Member

Actually I checked the job offers related to my field and there not so many applying while there are a lot of jobs.

I understand your point of not allowing too many. But that doesn't help to know what I should do to get accepted. Right now it seems very random. Its just like one random person looking like that at the profile and choosing yes or no and they give no reason for their decision.
I think upwork should be a bit more transparent about their process.

What should I do if I want to be accepted?

Marc-Antoine D wrote:

Actually I checked the job offers related to my field and there not so many applying while there are a lot of jobs.