🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Are ad-posting jobs legitimate? Do they help ...
Page options
robcortex
Community Member

Are ad-posting jobs legitimate? Do they help my reputation?

I recently decided to take a break from Upwork while I work on getting some web development projects done for my portfolio so I can switch over to being a Web Developer and have a concrete identity on the platform .

However, I recently got offered a job where I would help post an ad on a site, in exchange for a good rating. They said the ad costs money, but they will send me the money for the ad plus my pay.

Although I aim to return to the platform as a Web Developer, I'm not against being a Virtual Assistant until I can succeed as a Web Developer, and the job was listed as being a Virtual Assistant job.

So now I'm thinking "Aw **bleep**, here we go again. another scam." But they said they would send the compensation via Upwork or PayPal, and they look to be a reputable client with several jobs, several hirings, high ratings, verification, etc.

So, I've got this to ask: If I take a VA job for the reputation, will this hurt me in the future when I work as a WebDev? Could this be another scam? It does not look like one but I'm still very new to all of this.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Justin:
You have accepted a contract with this client.

There's nothing wrong with accepting a contract to help do marketing work.

A client CAN legitimately hire a freelancer to place ads.

But YOU are a serious, intelligent professional.

The client can't trick you into doing preposterous things.

Of course you know that you can not exchange money OUTSIDE of the Upwork platform. That means the client can't pay you via PayPal. The client can only send you money through Upwork. You also know that the client can pay for things directly, without asking YOU to pay for them.

All you need to do is think about how YOU would act if YOU were the client.