cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Bank Account Info?

Paul P Member Since: Jun 10, 2016
1 of 46

I'm fairly new to the Upwork community. The only communication I have received has been from financial scammers. Now Upwork is telling me they need my bank account information to verify my location. I'm expected to believe that? There are many ways to verify location without bank account information.

Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
2 of 46

Believe it. This has been discussed at great length in this topic: https://community.upwork.com/t5/Announcements/Testing-freelancer-location-for-job-posts/td-p/334213

You're a US freelancer and you probably applied to a job that specified a US freelancer, and thus Upwork wants to verify your location by way of your bank account info.

Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
3 of 46

Hi Paul, 

I understand how you feel. We looked at several different ways to verify whether a freelancer was based in the U.S. Unfortunately, none were perfect, and it is still susceptible to workarounds by those trying to misrepresent their location. In this case, we decided that providing proof of a U.S. bank account would be simple, and secure. 

Please take note that when you supply your bank information, it will not be used for any other purpose but only to verify your location. 

-Avery
Untitled
Kathleen F Member Since: Apr 27, 2017
4 of 46

So i provided my bank information but the upwork credits never showed up in my account and it's been more than two weeks. There appears no way for me to resubmit the information. 

I'm new to Upwork also, and the only offers I've had are either from a scammer or someone who wants me to write their entire novel for them for $50. 

So I'm giving Upwork another week or so, but it's irritating because I went through an entire proposal and then got an error message that they only want U.S. clients, which I cannot confirm. 

Please advise.