Before you yell "I need HELP" ...

Community Guru
Wendy C Member Since: Aug 24, 2015
1 of 27

Check out these links BEFORE you find yourself in dire need of help:

Read everything in this section:

https://community.upwork.com/t5/New-to-Upwork/bd-p/New_to_Upwork

In this RFP a scam? Read/memorize the info below:

https://community.upwork.com/t5/New-to-Upwork/Tips-to-Avoid-Questionable-Jobs/td-p/240833

Upwork has multiple tools to help you learn what you're doing. Webinars. Videos. The above links.

Now read the site's ToS (Terms of Service - an acronym you'll want to remember).

Once you've finished your reading list and assimilated it - only then are you really competent enough to start bidding on projects.

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 27

Similarly...

If you're a newbie here on Upwork...

You can't just drop into the Forum and post a new thread saying:

"I'm new here. How do I get started?"

or

"I don't know what to do. Tell me!"

Don't do that!

There is a whole Help section. There are videos. There is a whole Forum section titled "New to Upwork." There are specific threads that address this topic.

When a freelancer comes here and just asks an open-ended question like that, it seems like they are incredibly lazy and want somebody to take their hand and maybe do all the initial steps for them, or tell them each button to click, each word to type, etc.

That kind of question serves no purpose whatsoever.

If a newbie has a specific question, she should first search for the answer in Upwork's Help section and in the Community Forum. If she really doesn't find the information, then she should feel free to post her question here.

But none of this: "Hi, I'm new! How do I get a job here?" ridiculousness.

That's been asked and answered.

Community Guru
Virginia F Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
3 of 27

Yes, well ... I think this has been tried before, right Wendy? Maybe this time it will take, but let's not hold our breath.