🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Best Ways to Recover from Low Job Success...
Page options
marinamoraes
Community Member

Best Ways to Recover from Low Job Success Score?

Hey guys,

So I have been on Upwork for about 2 months now. I thought I was doing really well until I had a problem with a client. Basically she requested an article saying a short intro and a paragraph for each product would be enough.

Okay, no problem. I wrote the article and submitted it before the deadline; she thanked me and said she would get back to me with any potential edits.

Except she didn't. She just left me feebdack saying I didn't go ''above and beyond''.

Honestly, I am not sure what she was expecting. I think I wrote a pretty good article given how limiting the topic was. I would have happily edited anything, had she mentioned she wasn't satisfied. But she didn't give me the chance. 

I am still learning my way around Upwork, so I decided to refund her money and just put it all behind me. I didn't think my Job Score (which I just got) would end up so low.

Should I be hopeless? All my other clients either continue working with me or have left 5 star reviews. 

Ugh I feel so frustrated. Smiley Sad

17 REPLIES 17
lysis10
Community Member

You're chasing after the wrong clients but you don't appear to have expertise in anything so maybe they are you're only option? You're also working for 3 bucks an hour as a VA, so your profile is confusing.

Anyway, I'm sure you can recover. 63% is pretty low, but you can recover if you do things you know you can do.

My focus is on writing blogs posts/articles. 

I accepted the VA position because it involves a lot of product page copywriting and I wanted to expand my skills to that area. 

I haven't had any trouble finding clients, but I didn't have my Job Score until today. And from what I googled, refunding a client is terrible for that. I'm still learning the ropes, so I had no idea. Oh well.