cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Best Ways to Recover from Low Job Success Score?

Highlighted
Marina M Member Since: Nov 13, 2016
1 of 14

Hey guys,

So I have been on Upwork for about 2 months now. I thought I was doing really well until I had a problem with a client. Basically she requested an article saying a short intro and a paragraph for each product would be enough.

Okay, no problem. I wrote the article and submitted it before the deadline; she thanked me and said she would get back to me with any potential edits.

Except she didn't. She just left me feebdack saying I didn't go ''above and beyond''.

Honestly, I am not sure what she was expecting. I think I wrote a pretty good article given how limiting the topic was. I would have happily edited anything, had she mentioned she wasn't satisfied. But she didn't give me the chance. 

I am still learning my way around Upwork, so I decided to refund her money and just put it all behind me. I didn't think my Job Score (which I just got) would end up so low.

Should I be hopeless? All my other clients either continue working with me or have left 5 star reviews. 

Ugh I feel so frustrated. Smiley Sad

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
2 of 14

You're chasing after the wrong clients but you don't appear to have expertise in anything so maybe they are you're only option? You're also working for 3 bucks an hour as a VA, so your profile is confusing.

Anyway, I'm sure you can recover. 63% is pretty low, but you can recover if you do things you know you can do.

3 of 14

My focus is on writing blogs posts/articles. 

I accepted the VA position because it involves a lot of product page copywriting and I wanted to expand my skills to that area. 

I haven't had any trouble finding clients, but I didn't have my Job Score until today. And from what I googled, refunding a client is terrible for that. I'm still learning the ropes, so I had no idea. Oh well.