🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Best way to post a project with an auditi...
Page options
93ea1a15
Community Member

Best way to post a project with an audition or trial task before a large project?

Hi Upwork Community,

I am new to the hiring game and I would like to post a job in the hopes of finding a great illustrator. How would I post the job if I want the candidates to submit some kind of audition piece before sharing the full project and hiring them for the larger job?

Thank you for any input!

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

You may tell potential freelancers that this piece will be the first piece in a much larger project. That may attract a larger number of quality applicants. But you are not required to reveal this.

Excellent suggestion. Would I just set the budget for the trial piece, then? Thanks for responding 🙂

re: "Would I just set the budget for the trial piece, then?"

It really depends on what your goal is.

If you really want to gauge how an artist will work out for your larger project, you are going to need to think about price.

So what you might do is specify that you are hiring an artist to do what she can do with one hour's time, and that you will authorize one hour of work and see what they come up with.

You could also specify the budget. For example, you could say:
"I know that, as an artist, you could do a very simple version or a very elaborate version of this piece. I am paying each artist $25 and I want to see what they can do for that amount. Even if that means creating a simpler piece than you could possible imagine."

Those are two real approaches that will keep a tight control on your budget.

These approaches are not bad. But they aren't perfect, either. Because an artist might try to "impress" you by doing more work than you're actually paying for. You wouldn't be able to know if an artist (for example) secretly did two hours of work even though she only logged one hour.