🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Bid Order for Job Creator
Page options
jsmith-visual
Community Member

Bid Order for Job Creator

I've been doing graphic design on Upwork for about two months with what I've felt has been reasonable success. Out the gate I got a couple interesting jobs from great clients, but these past two weeks it seems very difficult to get any responses from the proposals I submit. I am trying to understand why this may be, and I've started wondering about the way Upwork presents proposals on the client's screen.

I watched one of Upwork's videos on creating better proposals and some of the information there seemed to suggest that the response of UW's algorithms to profile stats may play a fairly dominant role in a freelancer's ability to connect with clients. This has me wondering about the order in which bids show up the screen where job posters review proposals, or other ways in which this interface may encourage/dissuade a job poster from selecting (noticing, viewing, etc.) different freelancers.

Specifically, I'm wondering if anyone knows whether, or in which way and to what extent, any of the following may impact the visibility of my bid on a job poster's interface.

• Order of response

• Bid price

• Job success rating

• Presence of lingering jobs

• Income crossing a particular earnings threshold (say, the first $1K)

• Recent profile tweaks

Can the job poster re-order the list, showing earlier, most recent, cheapest and/or most expensive bids first? If they can sort, what other criteria can they sort by? And most importantly, what is the default sort order? Also, are there filters on this list that can remove bids based on things like success rating, $ earned, etc.?

Reading an old forum post I saw mention of an "Upwork Recommends." Is this still in effect and if so, how does this play into the interface (is it a different tab, default tab, sort order, badge, etc.)?