🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Can I pay a one-off introduction fee?
Page options
fiona_uk
Community Member

Can I pay a one-off introduction fee?

Hi there

I'm in an unsual situation. I am a freelancer with a very busy client.

They are looking for translators and I have been tasked with finding a number of translators.

I have interviewed a few via facetime on upwork.

I now wish to introduce a few of these candidates to my client (note that they would pay them for the work - not me).

My client may have immediate work - or it may be deferred until next year.

There may be one-off projects - or there may be employment opportunities.

For this reason they would rather simply pay an intro fee (within reason of course) as opposed to join Upwork and constantly message via Upwork - it would be quicker and more convenient for them to simply be able to email freelancers directly as and when work comes up. Is this possible? What would the fee be and where would the payment be made?

Thanks!

10 REPLIES 10
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Thanks!

Is this possible? What would the fee be and where would the payment be made?

You can hire freelancers for whatever task both agree on. If you wish to hire them for a project and continue conversation outside of upwork, you are free to do that. Just remember that payment will always have to go through upwork. 

petra_r
Community Member

@Fiona M wrote:

For this reason they would rather simply pay an intro fee (within reason of course) as opposed to join Upwork and constantly message via Upwork - it would be quicker and more convenient for them to simply be able to email freelancers directly as and when work comes up. Is this possible? What would the fee be and where would the payment be made?

Thanks!

It is possible but likely prohibitively expensive.

Last time I looked it was a minimum of $ 2500 (per freelancer) - the so-called opt-out fee.