🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Can secondary school students join Upwork?
Page options
shadowpea
Community Member

Can secondary school students join Upwork?

I am a secondary school student who wants to be a freelancer, but the application form is asking for my post-secondary education and work history. I am currently a fiction writer who writes from home. Can I still apply?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

From what you describe: working for a client to gain experience is an internship. That's not freelancing. Freelancing is providing a professional service in exchange for money. Freelancers provide a professional service and are not usually still in training. 

My advice would be to Google: Writing groups online

Also, ask around local newspaper or magazine offices and offer to intern. However, that would be nonfiction, not fiction. There are not many opportunities to be hired as a fiction writer apart from as a ghostwriter. Fiction writers usually write a book and either send it off to publishers or self-publish it themselves online. You are living in the era of Google, have a good browse and find a group that can support you in your quest.

I wish you the best of luck on your journey. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

Kimberly:

Upwork has no specific requirements with regards to a potential freelancer's current educational situation or educational history.

Currently Upwork has many freelancers, and it has more than are necessary in many categories. So most freelancers are likely to find themselves not getting approved.

All freelancers must be at least 18 years of age or order.

For most people, fiction writing is an avocation. You do not need an Upwork account in order to write fiction from home. There are many ways to do that.

Can you still apply?

Yes.

Is this likely to be a way that you will earn money?

No.