🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Can someone help me with my client
Page options
arndominic
Community Member

Can someone help me with my client

Good day everyone! I'm new to upwork. I have a client asked me to 3d animate and rigged his 16 character models. So we have a deal that it will be 30$ per character models as seen in my proposal. After showing him my work per character animation done as "gif", I ask him kindly if I will submit the work on the contract, the client wants me to animate his another character again without a second milestone he said "no rush". After 2 weeks of sending some gifs to show that it's done and I let him check for free revisions, I finally finished to animate and rig his 16 character models. The client promised me a 480$ for all the work already done, but only 30$ is on the milestone. I ask him kindly how our contract works, but he replies too little, like "ok" "sure" "great". Now recently he wants me to animate another character but I stopped because of the payment assurance. Can I still get the promised 480$ payment. I have evidence in our messages that I'm continuously working on his project.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
hardorff
Community Member

If you're on a fixed-price contract, you should NEVER start working on it, if ALL of the money isn't in escrow.
As the situation is now, your client could get away with only paying you $30 (which are the amount which is in escrow).
Before you start working on future contracts, please read about fixed-price protection.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
hardorff
Community Member

If you're on a fixed-price contract, you should NEVER start working on it, if ALL of the money isn't in escrow.
As the situation is now, your client could get away with only paying you $30 (which are the amount which is in escrow).
Before you start working on future contracts, please read about fixed-price protection.