🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Cannot get my first job!
Page options
rdouedari
Community Member

Cannot get my first job!

I am new to Upwork. I have submitted at least 10 proposals so far, if not more. I simply am unable to get accepted and make a track record.

Other than the fact that I am missing some examples of my work (which I do not have much of since all my experience was co-ops/internships, which is all confidential, and school work), I am not sure why I never get chosen. Even for simple tasks like data entry I am unable to get anything.

I would appreciate if someone can look over my profile and give feedback. Also, perhaps if someone can give a rough estimate for hourly wage of someone of my level.

Thanks,

Riyad

17 REPLIES 17
choicetrg
Community Member

I'm in the same boat and have a video and samples available and am wearing out my keyboard submitting offers.  Good luck!

It defeats the purpose of having a freelancer website!

I heard from a few freelancers that there are several people from third-world countries who are using VPNs and faking their US address to get jobs from out here. They are also the ones who offer a lot less pay because the cost of living there is much much lower! This causes us to get outbeat... 

Good luck to you too!

I feel sorry for your thinking. I am from third world country and i am struggling too to get work from upwork. Instead of blaming others make your own way of getting work.

There is a qoute:
Get rich or die trying

Hope you’ll understand

Hi Abdul,

You may want to consider checking out this Community board as it has many great articles to help you boost your career on Upwork and this thread to help you get started.

Here are some articles that can help you write proposals that win jobs: