🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Catch 22 new to Upwork - Help needed
Page options
tomasmcadam
Community Member

Catch 22 new to Upwork - Help needed

Hello. I've recently joined, 2 days ago, and I've been making good, strong proposals, 24 in total. My portfolio is good, but I'm not even getting any profile views. 0 views. I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

I've already purchased another 60 connects, but I feel like it's a waste of time and money. I have no job score and clients aren't even checking my profile. I have all the skills, experience and time to complete every project I bid on. I'm offering myself for a fraction of what I usually charge, but still, no view, no contract, not even any replies. 

I know what people will say, that it's just the way it is and be patient. But I'd like someone to answer one fundamental question, please. 

How can I get jobs here without already having done jobs here? It's a total catch 22. It's not like I have no portfolio, no experience, and no skills. The opposite in fact. 

How do other people get started?

Should I be working for 0 money just to get the job score and feedback?

I heard this is frowned upon, and I understand why, but then how can I ever get a job?

I'm genuinely interested in what others did to get those first few jobs. Any help would be much appreciated. 

Thank you.

14 REPLIES 14
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Should I be working for 0 money just to get the job score and feedback?"

Work done for free does not result in feedback appearing on your profile page and does not lead to good JSS. Contracts with zero earnings only hurt JSS.

Tomas, your profile is professional. However, while it's clever to start out discussing how many hats you wear, that doesn't say what you do and my understanding is clients only see the first 2 lines of your profile when you send a proposal, and someone whose primary language isn't English may not understand the expression.