🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Changing My Name
Page options
shewa_o
Community Member

Changing My Name

Hi there,

I'm new to Upwork and made my account today. I made my profile with my prefered name and not my legal name. I didn't know this would be an issue until I tried to set up the payment option. I receievd a name missmatch message and I was wondering how do I manually change my name to my legal. I've been searching for an email or telephone contact but I haven't had much luck. I'm able to provide a government ID to verify my identity. 

I'd really appreciate any help you can offer. 

Many thanks

Shewa 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
akbgill
Community Member

Shewa If your name change request is under review then your name should change. Becasue I also chage my name. After review upwork change my name it takes few days.

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
akbgill
Community Member

shewa_o
Community Member

Hi Abrar,

Thank you for your response. I tried to initially edit the name before I posted my enquiry, however I got a response saying my name change request is under review. My worry is that I was not asked for my ID and thus I feel like the review might be rejected for lack of ID. Can you send me a link to the place where I can upload my ID as I cannot find it. When I go into settings and click the contact info tab, there's no option to upload my ID. 

Thank you in advance for your help.

Shewa 

akbgill
Community Member

Shewa If your name change request is under review then your name should change. Becasue I also chage my name. After review upwork change my name it takes few days.

shewa_o
Community Member

Thank you so much for your responses. 

Hey Shewa, have you change your id? because I am also going through this same problem. 
If you did, please share your experience so that I can get the solution. 
Thanks in advance. 

Hi Tushar,