🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Charges on upwork payments to India
Page options
shriyap
Community Member

Charges on upwork payments to India

Hi, I am an Indian freelancer new to upwork and struggling to understand the nitty gritties of the platform. I wanted to know from any Indian freelancer in the community who’s using an ICICi bank for receiving payment through direct to bank transfer what the charges are (if any) for such payments. So far I am aware of what my payment looks like post service fee, tds, currency conversion and so forth. Just wanted to clarify if there are any additional charges people using icici bank have noted when from the banks end when receiving payment. Thanks!
9 REPLIES 9
JoanneP

Hi Shriya,

Welcome to Upwork! 

In general, direct to local bank payments take up to four business days to arrive at your bank. The cost per withdrawal direct to your local bank is $0.99 (plus incoming fees at some banks). More information can be found in this help article. I'm sure other Indian community members would be happy to share helpful information with you regarding any specific charges for direct to local bank withdrawals in your location. 

~ Joanne
Upwork
shriyap
Community Member

Hi Joanna,

Thanks for your reply. I knew that Upwork wouldn't be able to help me with regard to the incoming fees for my particular Indian bank. I addressed the Indian freelancers specifically so I could get a more accurate answer for my query. Btw, are there specific communities on Upwork for different kinds of answers. With my question, I am just getting the impression I am throwing my query out into the ether and dont really know who is seeing my question. And so on. Essentially, how does the community work. For example does everyone on Upwork get a notification for new queries on Upwork that they may chose to answer. Or the more active members get to see questions. Thanks

Hi Shriya,