Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Client Server Fees

Highlighted
Chris W Member Since: Dec 26, 2016
1 of 6

I'm new to Upwork.

As I was looking at a potential job opportunity, I saw that the client was going to charge me a server fee when doing data entry for them. Is this normal, I guess I'm afraid it is a scam. Would my server fee just be taken out of the amount I earn after doing the work for them?

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
2 of 6

@Chris W wrote:

I saw that the client was going to charge me a server fee when doing data entry for them. 

Server fees :-) Lol.

Say Chris, I would be more to happy to help you here but there is a fee for asking questions. Just send me $20 and I will answer your question.

-----------
"Where darkness shines like dazzling light"   —William Ashbless
Highlighted
Community Guru
Virginia F Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
3 of 6

Rene jests ... as he is wont to do.

This is how it works ... clients pay us, not the other way around. Flag the job so Upwork can take a look at it.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
4 of 6

$60 is half a week's salary for the $3/hour chumps. Pretty steep if you ask me. Prolly should stick to the $20 scam. Maybe they are testing their market value.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
5 of 6

re: "I'm new to Upwork."

Chris:

Some of my friends among the Forum Contributors are in a festive holiday mood and they're having fun with you.

Server fees?

This is a scam.

Because you asked this question, you marked yourself as someboy who is not yet ready to work as a freelancer on Upwork.

We believe that you will do one of the following:

a) read the instructions

[or]

b) get scammed out of some money and/or time on your first few jobs

Highlighted
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
6 of 6

Hi Chris,