cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Client asked me for my personal email address

Highlighted
Mark G Member Since: Apr 18, 2017
1 of 7

Hello all! I recently received my first message from a potential client. They have asked me for my personal email account so they could "send you over the details". I am confused as to why they would do this. I thought that connecting clients to freelancers was Upwork's main function. Why would they desire to communicate with me outside of the website? Am I just being paranoid or should I be worried? The client does have high reviews (44 reviews, 4.99 rating) and has been a member since 2012. Of course there are similar questions like mine but there are mixed responses. Just looking for a little clarity and direction here, I'm a super rookie with all of this.

Thanks for everyone's time!

Mark

Highlighted
Community Guru
Bojana D Member Since: May 2, 2011
BEST ANSWER
2 of 7

If you're already in communication/contract, there's nothing wrong with adding additional channels - whether it's for flexibility's sake or just as a backup. While using Upwork's in-house message center has advantages (easier and faster access to written proof of communication and agreements being the main one), it's also quite unintuitive, not user-friendly at all, and with the recent downtimes - not always available. I for one prefer to use off-site communication with all my clients, except the ones that insist on using the Message Center - my email certainly has less downtime than UW. As long as you keep the payments here, and adhere to the ToS of the site, the communication can happen anywhere you want it to.

View solution in original post

Highlighted
3 of 7

Thank you, I will keep that in mind. However there is no current contract, this was the first message I'd received about the job I bid on.

Appreciation!

Highlighted
Community Guru
Virginia F Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
4 of 7

@Mark G wrote: