🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Client compains about my performance and said...
Page options
ngoeerly
Community Member

Client compains about my performance and said do not want to pay

Hello,

I am new to Upwork and I just got my first job. It is hourly contract with max of 15 hours/week (Should involve initially 5 - 10 hrs to get this completed)

After accepting the offer, the client direct me to contact other person via email or call with the reason that she is the one who has all the files and the instructions, but she is not at Upwork. So I called, talked to her and tell her to send me email regarding all the job she needs to me do.

She gave me the instructions by email and I followed and finished most part of the job from the email task list she gave me. I spend 5 hours working on the task.

The client at Upwork messages me complaining that the website I worked on is not working properly and a lot of functions are missing and stated I did not do my job properly and yet billing for 5 hours. He said that he is unwilling to pay for the work that I already did, expected me to fix it without billing anymore hours.

It sounded like he only want to pay 5 hours for the whole project (instead of 15 hours)

What shoud I do? Will I not get paid?

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8
joostdoevelaar
Community Member

Now I am obviously not on the loop, but it sounds like they are unhappy with the work and are suggesting that the work you delivered is faulty. It doesn't sound like they want you to complete the entire job (least that's what I am getting) but they want you to fix what you have done to ensure that it works. 

The question you need to ask yourself is whether the work was up to par and whether the website works as it should (par the instructions that you were given). 

I am doing the job as the instructions given. The problem is the client at Upwork
is different than the person who is giving instructions (Client at Upwork directed me to another person who has the instruction)