🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Client disappeared and JSS
Page options
jovanarh
Community Member

Client disappeared and JSS

Hi everybody!

Thanks for taking your time to read my problems and questions. I am relatively new to UP. Today I got my JSS and it is 88%. I have 4 finished jobs with 5 stars rating and one open job beacuse the client disappeared, although in messages she praised all the work that I did for her. I try really hard and do my best here on the platform, and  all of my private messages from the clients are very  positive. How come that my JSS is 88%?  And what should I do with the client that disappeared? We agreed to 3 milestones, and only the first one is in escrow, and of course I did all the work. 

Thanks in advance,

Jovana

11 REPLIES 11
wptophat
Community Member

Unfortunately, UpWorks JSS algorithm is a bit.....screwey. It also takes into account private feedback that you do not see. Also, any jobs where the client did not leave feedback will hurt your JSS too. You are not alone in this surprise. Just search JSS and you will see lots of threads about this very thing!

As for the client disappearing,it happens. Hopefully, you did not surrender all the work yet. If you did, use this as a learning experience. NEVER surrender work that is not already paid for either in escrow (fixed price) or by clocking your time (hourly projects).

You can file a dispute with UpWork, but I would not hold out too much hope that you will ever see payment for this job, unless the client suddenly shows up again.