🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Client ended the contract without any prior n...
Page options
dk4k_like
Community Member

Client ended the contract without any prior notice

Hi all,
I am fairly new to the upwork and this will be my first and hopefully last dispute.

The client hired me before and I did the work got paid.
Then the same client hired me again and we used to chat on Slack and Monday .com
Without any prior notice the client removed me from both platforms and requested refund on Upwork.
Now I do not have access to any of the Slack and Monday messages.

I have signed a NDA and a contract and the contract says client can cancel the contract anytime upon notice being given but there was not any.

It was a fixed-price funded contract and I have spend so much time with them on meetings and communication and completed around 75% of the work for this job.

What do you suggest? I have not disputed yet and also I have wrote and email to touch the base on why this happened? but have not got answered yet.

Because I clearly did not miss any deadline or anything to my knowledge that might cause this action.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "Since the client removed me from Slack and Monday, Now I don't have access to the communication I had with client. Will it affect my dispute?"

No. Disputes are handled on Upwork. Upwork does not interface with Slack or Monday in order to handle disputes.

re: "Also I already emailed the client to touch the base but have received any reply, Do I still need to message the client and tell..."

No.

You do not need to tell the client anything.

The important thing is that you responded to Upwork's question whether to accept or decline the refund request.

If you rejected the refund request... then a dispute will be created. But if the client does nothing, then you will receive all of the money in escrow.