Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Client not paying?

tykunz98
Ty K Member Since: Sep 20, 2017
1 of 11

Hi there,

I'm really new to UpWork so I may have gone about this in the wrong way. A client reached out to me to do a job for them reviewing their website and application process for a couple of brokerage firms. He offered a fixed pay price of just $5 and that was fine with me because as I said, I'm fairly new to UpWork.

So I looked through the website and the application process and then put the notes into a .PDF file and sent it as a message to my client. He replied asking me to finalize my application and submit it for the brokerage firm, but I told him that I got as far as I could without actually submitting the application because the job was obviously for me to simply review the website/application process, not actually sign up for this. After I explained this, he seemed fine with it. 

I've sent him messages twice in the past two days asking about the payment for my work. Instead, he took away my "active candidacy" status for the job... What should I do? Should I report this client? I'm very confused and I'm not sure if I did something wrong in the process of this job. I want to make sure this doesn't happen again. 

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 11

You weren't hired. NEVER work without being hired and that job was probably a scam anyway, were you supposed to open a brokerage account?

Here's a quick guide as to how to identify most scams

Real-Job-Or-Scam.jpg

vladag
Vladimir G Moderator Member Since: Oct 31, 2014
3 of 11

Hi Ty,

I'm sorry to hear you worked on a job without being hired. In addition to the correct information and advice Petra shared, I'd like to ask you to review these freelancer resources before submitting new proposals. Feel free to follow up afterwards if you have any questions.

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
4 of 11