🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Client requesting me to make a payment to my ...
Page options
davis-ean
Community Member

Client requesting me to make a payment to my credit card.

Hello, 

I am new to Upwork and just got my first VA job. I am a little concerned as the client is requesting for me to make a payment to my credit card from his checking account. He has provided me his bank account number and routing number. He stated that I will be using my credit card for purchased but he will have funds avaible to reimburse me. Is that normal? What are the normal procedures for VAs to make purchased for their clients? 

Thank you in advance for all the advice!

15 REPLIES 15
prestonhunter
Community Member

No. That is not normal.

It sounds like this "client" is trying to steal your money.

A couple important points:

Upwork prohibits freelancers and clients from exchanging funds in any way, other than through Upwork. So if you are caught doing this, your Upwork account could be suspended or terminated.

If you are going to pay money to the client from your credit card, it would violate Upwork ToS.

If the client is going to provide money to you through your credit card, it wouldl violate Upwork ToS.

If you were going to spend money from your credit card and the client sends you a check or directly from his bank account, or anything else, to reimburse you, it would be a violation of Upwork ToS.

So... Assuming that the client is 100% honest, then this "job" you are telling us about would get you in trouble.

But I don't believe this client is 100% honest.

Let's think about this: What kind of company reaches out to complete strangers and asks them to use THEIR credit cards for company business?

If YOU were the client, and you wanted a VA to make purchases for you, then wouldn't YOU provide the freelancer (the VA) with a company credit card? Or a company expense acount?