🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Client's unrealistic expectations
Page options
emmafontenot
Community Member

Client's unrealistic expectations

I am new to Upwork and working on my second job. I think my client doesn't quite understand how much information he is asking for.  He wants recycling information about every state and county in the United States, which the EPA doesn't track.  The contract is for 10/hr a week at $20/hr for 1 to 3 months. I've been on the project for four (4) days and he keeps hounding me for all of the information now and wants daily updates--which I don't mind doing. I keep reminding him that no two states or counties record, track, or keep information in the same place and that some of the information he is seeking is proprietary and it may not be publically available. I'm a professional researcher and work with fed, state, and local gov't information/data pretty regularly, so it's not that I don't know what I'm doing that is taking time. It's mostly a matter of the information being so disparate. I think his expectations differ from his posting and the work contract and I believe what he's wanting is unrealistic. I'm a professional researcher and work with fed, state, and local gov't information pretty regularly, so I know what I'm doing. I don't want to let the client down, but he'd need a team of professional researchers to get this done in a short amount of time.

12 REPLIES 12
lysis10
Community Member

So what have you decided to do?

I decided to end the contract, give him what content I had, and told him he didn't have to pay for the 7hrs worked thus far. I probably should have tried to negotiate or explain things more, but his expectations were interfering with my daily job--which he was made aware of.  

Well that was very nice. 👽

Emma F wrote: