🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Client unresponsive and not setting up th...
Page options
toni_schwartz
Community Member

Client unresponsive and not setting up the next milestone

Hello,

I'm new to UpWork, having only been here about a month. I did a job for a client who had a fixed-rate project. He paid me the first milestone with no issues. About a week later I messaged him and said that whenever he's ready, he can set up the next milestone. Another 9 days have passed with still no word.

I get some people get busy and don't log in to UpWork every day, but I saw him a few days ago clearly logged in. I didn't say anything to him at the time because I didn't want to sound like I'm nagging. I also get that maybe whatever else he has lined up isn't quite ready yet, but I would at least appreciate him touching base.

Is this normal for clients to do? Thanks very much.

4 REPLIES 4
mthornton-cpc
Community Member

I'm not sure if it's "normal", per se, but some projects move faster than others and some clients are more responsive than others. I'd send another message checking in if I were you. It's been 9 days. That's not nagging, it's being proactive. 

shohel121
Community Member

Hi Toni,

A good practice is always replying to the messages either it a positive or negative. But some clients are really reluctant as if they don't see the stuff. I have also few such contracts - the clients are unresponsive. I tried to get them in touch several times but simply failed. Now I am more careful in choosing the job- I see the clients profile well beforehand. BUT I am also happy that I have had a good number of good clients too. 

Shohel

UPDATE: I saw him online yesterday, three days after I posted this question. That makes it almost three weeks since he last communicated (and that was just him approving the milestone). Since he was online, I messaged him again. I mentioned that I haven't heard from him in a while and if he was still in need of my services. No response.