🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Client wants me to sensld my userid, name, ag...
Page options
3c9217f9
Community Member

Client wants me to sensld my userid, name, age, and country by email.

Hi.

A client has contacted me via the  Upwork messaging tool. She wants me to send my userid, name, age, and country of origin to her gmail. Is that okay? 

8 REPLIES 8
martina_plaschka
Community Member

No. Don't do it. Remember: no communication outside of upwork before hire. 

I see. I am new to this. Today I received messages from two clients who
wanted to communicate by email. One of them wanted to me to send my userId
to her gmail.
Thank you.
petra_r
Community Member

No, that is not okay.

You are not allowed to communicate outside the platform with prospective clients before a contract is in place.

There is also never any genuine reason for a client to ask your user-id or your age.

Likely a scam, but even if the job is not a scam, you are not allowed to send anything by email anyway until you have been hired.

3c9217f9
Community Member

This has been noted. Thank you.
17f3e0a1
Community Member

Hello, I also received a message asking for that information. I just came here to see if someone had the same encounter and what to do. They seemed suspicious.

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

It's a scam. 

Hi Peter,

Thank you for reaching out to us and bringing this to our attention. I shared your report with our team for further investigation and appropriate actions will be taken according to our internal processes.

Please know that a real client will never ask you to give them money to start working, cash a check for them, work for free, or provide your personal information. I also encourage you to let us know if a TOS violation has happened by using the Flag as Inappropriate option throughout the platform. You can learn more about user reporting here.