🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Clients outside of Upwork
Page options
laura_panella
Community Member

Clients outside of Upwork

I'm a freelancer, and have been for over a decade. I have a steady log of clients and do not want to use Upwork to get new clients. However, a new client is insisting on paying me through Upwork. Can I be sure that Upwork will not come after me for payments/jobs for existing clients I have, who do not use their platform?  Also, can I be sure they won't try to charge me some cancellation fee once the job is done with this client (it's only 2 weeks)?

2 REPLIES 2
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Laura,

You might be interested in Direct Contracts. Direct Contracts makes it easy to get paid by your clients who don’t have a full account on Upwork and just need access to review your invoices and make payments. With Direct Contracts you also get the protection of escrow and if a dispute arises we will be happy to help.

Let us know if you need any further assistance. 

Thank you!

~ Bojan
Upwork
colettelewis
Community Member

Laura P wrote:

I'm a freelancer, and have been for over a decade. I have a steady log of clients and do not want to use Upwork to get new clients. However, a new client is insisting on paying me through Upwork. Can I be sure that Upwork will not come after me for payments/jobs for existing clients I have, who do not use their platform?  Also, can I be sure they won't try to charge me some cancellation fee once the job is done with this client (it's only 2 weeks)?

Laura,

I don't have any difficulty in separating my off-Upwork clients (clients who found me, or who I found in other areas, who do not have Upwork accounts) and my Upwork clients. Upwork has never come after me to "make" me onboard my other clients onto this site.