🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Clients wanting to contact via Telegram, is t...
Page options
41016d26
Community Member

Clients wanting to contact via Telegram, is this allowed?

Hello there, I'm new to Upwork, I've been trying to find legit job listings on here through typing, proofreading, and data entry, and the first few batches I've seen are clients having really vague descriptions about needing a document re-typed unto a PDF or something.

However, I came across and proposed on a few other job listings, and one of them sent me a PDF telling me that they have "reviewed" my cover letter despite me sending it almost right away. The instructions said to contact them via Telegram, I'm aware what the app is, but I personally feel like it's.. sketchy to contact a business, fake or not, through a different app when email and Upwork itself exists.

I was also contacted by another client telling me to also contact their managers through Telegram as well, they said that I could email the manager as well. I was very skepitcal about these two clients, so I ignored them both.

How do clients usually message or contact anyone that is interested in their job listing?

39 REPLIES 39
prestonhunter
Community Member

No.

It is not allowed.

And even if it was allowed, why would you want to do that?
Those are scammers who are trying to steal money from your bank account.

I am new and got that too...and reported it...

It happened to me just yesterday. That's why I ignore it but how to report that scammer? 

Happening to also today.  Is it so hard to find legit work nowadays? 

Yep, it really is. I got scammed a grand as they somehow got a hold of my bank information despite me not giving any information regarding that, still talking to RBC but they don't have a great customer service let alone a fraud and scam department. Gonna get me some coffee and cry myself to sleep I wish you guys the best