🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Clocked hours with wrong client, saved al...
Page options
cyntheag
Community Member

Clocked hours with wrong client, saved all screen shots, will Upwork look at in dispute?

I accepted a contract, client was Payment Verified, and I immediately went to work on Client's project, which was writing a proposal response to an RFP with a 48-hour turnaround. (Proposal response was due to be submitted by client 51 hours after I was offered the contract.) 

This was my second contract on Upwork. As a relative newbie here, it didn't even occur to me to check on which client the contract hours were being clocked with. After working about 6 hours, I noticed the name on the timeclock was not my current client's name, but the name of another project. 

I immediately went to Help to find a solution for how to transfer hours to current client and learned it wasn't an option. It was recommended in the Community solutions to screen shot all the hours, which I did.

I then quickly deleted all hours being charged to another account and informed my current client what I had done. I have screenshots of all hours worked and added the hours manually to my current project. (Current client permitted manual entry).

Client is now saying "I was going to file a dispute since I do not feel like the final product reflects 13 hours of work, but UpWork encourages you to try to resolve things directly first. So, I am requesting that we are able to resolve this." 

Question: If she opens a dispute, will Upwork take into consideration the screenshots of time and work diary that inadvertently was clocked to another client before I discovered my mistake?

I have read all Terms and Conditions, so I understand I'm only protected by the clocked hours to this client. I'll eat it if I have to, but am curious to learn, as a newbie, if Upwork considers my screenshots and accounting of hours. 

Thank you.

9 REPLIES 9
AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Cynthea,