cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Concerned about a job offer I have recieved

hrvanzile
Heather V Member Since: Nov 17, 2016
1 of 11

I am new to Upwork and still trying to feel my way around how this all works, so I was pretty excited when I got an interview oppurtunity. But some red flags have been raised and before i go any further with this offer i wanted to make sure it was legit. I have been contacted by **edited for Community Guidelines** and he is sending me funds to get supplies for the job they have hired me for. Then we see some information on a few scams that match this offer almost to a T. Is there a way to just make sure that this is a for sure thing. I would appreciate all the help and info anyone has on this

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 11

Heather, this is a scam. It is the most common scam we see these days.

There is no money to be made here.

You could have your Upwork account suspended or permanently terminated for agreeing to receive money outside of Upwork like this.

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 11

Let's put aside the fact that this is a very common scam.

Let's not talk about this scammer "client."

What is more important at this time is the fact that you were willing to accept money outside of the Upwork platform. This is a violation of one of Upwork's three most important rules.

If you are using Upwork, you may not accept money outside of Upwork. Not for a bonus. Not for payment for work done. Not for expenses. Not for any reason.

There are other rules that you do not yet know about.

There are rules that those of us who are experienced know about, and those rules protect us from getting scammed.

garnorm
Community Guru
Garnor M Member Since: Oct 29, 2014
BEST ANSWER
4 of 11

Hi Heather,