🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Decline by Client
Page options
hkay77
Community Member

Decline by Client

I am new here and just had a situation in which a client invited me to his job post. Very cheap rates for writing a LOT of words but I entertained it for the work experience (new, no ratings). However, twice (since I am a writer) I asked him what i was writing the articles for? He ignored it the first time, and when he sent me the 'test assignment' a second time, I responded that I would be glad to write the test article if he could tell me what I was writing for. Not only did he not answer me, he declined the proposal and then proceeded to block me from messaging him further.

As a writer (with no mention of ghost writing) I wanted to know. Does this decline show? Is this appropriate behaviour? Do I not have a write to know WHAT I am giving my blood-time for writing so cheaply? Just curious.

THANKS!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
csjarmitage
Community Member

A lot of mistakes almost happened here, so it's good that this project didn't move forward.

First, you didn't have a contract so you would never have been paid for your work. Second, you almost sold your services at rock bottom prices which would have likely locked you into low rates for a long time to come. Why would a client be interested in paying you a decent rate if your profile shows you're willing to work for peanuts?

Rejecting your proposal doesn't impact your profile negatively.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
tyerc
Community Member

I hope a moderator gives you an answer, sounds like a very unprofessinal client.

csjarmitage
Community Member

A lot of mistakes almost happened here, so it's good that this project didn't move forward.