🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Declining a proposal after interview and much...
Page options
aa4ebb46
Community Member

Declining a proposal after interview and much conversation.

Hi everyone. I am new at Upwork and I got my first response yesterday. When I send the proposal the job was so ambiguous and nothing was written in detail except the skills that matched totally with my skills.Knowing that I submit the proposal and got the response. from that till now I am trying to get a deep understanding of the project with the client through chat.
    My question is if for any reason, the work is more and the amount is less or anything else. I don't want to continue with the client or don't want to seal the deal. What should I do?
    What is the best practice to proceed so that the client doesn't get offensive?
    Moreover is there any chance that the client can give me a bad review although I didn't work with him?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
df602768
Community Member

Moreover is there any chance that the client can give me a bad review although I didn't work with him?

Nope. Unless there's a contract in place, a client cannot you give a positive or negative review.

My question is if for any reason, the work is more and the amount is less or anything else. I don't want to continue with the client or don't want to seal the deal. What should I do?

Just tell your client you don't feel you're the best fit for the job. Say you didn't know the exact scope of their project, and now that you know it and that there's more work involved than you initially thought, it'd be better for them to choose another freelancer. 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
df602768
Community Member

Nope. Unless there's a contract in place, a client cannot you give a positive or negative review.