Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Re: Desktop app won't start

Highlighted
Active Member
Lyndon B Member Since: Dec 20, 2019
1 of 57

Ap won't start. "Browser or ap may not be secure." I have tried it with most recent updates of Firefox and Chrome -- and with trying to start the ap with no browser open.I've also verified Avast is updated.Using Windows 10. I can get on website, but it looks like I can't track time. Eager to start! -- This is my first day.I've installed, uninstalled and reinstalled the 64 bit standard, 64 bit beta and 32 bit standard, all of which stop in the login process.Would you like a screenshot? Any suggestions?

Moderator
Bojan S Moderator Member Since: Mar 9, 2018
2 of 57

Hi Lyndon,

 

Could you please try Troubleshooting tips shared in this help article.  If the issue persists, please report it following ''How do I report a problem?'' section of previously shared Troubleshooting guide, and our team will assist you directly.

 

Thank you.

~ Bojan
Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Lyndon B Member Since: Dec 20, 2019
3 of 57

Hi Bojan,

Thanks for the quick response.

I had read through the troubleshooting info earlier today -- but didn't see anything.  I'll try again to send info by the form.

Highlighted
Active Member
Lyndon B Member Since: Dec 20, 2019
4 of 57

And some time later the form took me right back here.

Highlighted
Moderator
Bojan S Moderator Member Since: Mar 9, 2018
5 of 57

I apologize for the trouble this caused, Lyndon!

 

One of our team members will reach out to you directly via a support ticket to assist you with this concern. 

 

Thank you for your patience!

~ Bojan
Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Lyndon B Member Since: Dec 20, 2019
6 of 57
Many things are working -- and I'm appreciating the documentation. Also,
I'm quite patient. I had a turtle for a pet for 26 years ...
Highlighted
Active Member
Oleksandr I Member Since: Sep 23, 2019
7 of 57

Hello
I had the same problem.
I cannot log in to my account on the desktop app. This happened after I selected authorization via Google.
Please, can you change this method of authorisation, or how can this problem be solved?
Thank you!

Highlighted
Active Member
Lyndon B Member Since: Dec 20, 2019
8 of 57
Eureka! Disconnecting from the Google account login, and logging in with
Upwork username and password worked! App in open, and will practice with
it later today.
Highlighted
Active Member
Oleksandr I Member Since: Sep 23, 2019
9 of 57

I also found how to disable authorization via Google:
Profile Settings -> Connected services -> [Sign in with Google] Disconnecting

Highlighted
Active Member
Arianne M Member Since: Jan 5, 2020
10 of 57

Thank you so much for posting your solution! I had the same issue, and found that disconnecting Google sign-in worked for me as well. 

TOP KUDOED MEMBERS