🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Edited FAKE CLIENT -SCAM asking for Security ...
Page options
renerose1428
Community Member

Edited FAKE CLIENT -SCAM asking for Security Fee

Dear All,

I am new to upwork and wanted to earn extra.

I have a full time work but have free time and I am good with any job that appointed to me.

At first I tried to apply to any job that I think I can manage to finish within the alloted time,

I came across with client and ask me to send message to telegram, as new here I try and with all the excitement I send a message. I even try to impress him with my credentials...

then finally he send me a pdf file and asking me to choose a project.

I was surprise that there is security fee. He is telling that it is company policy etc.. 

(see attached picture below for reference).

I have no idea as its really convincing and given with all the documents and agreement he is asking to sign.

But I am good in research and development, hehehehe one of my strength as I am keen into details.

I search and search until I found articles that its all a SCAM!

Do not be deceived. Be extra careful. It is tough times.

We need to be smarter.

I create this to give hint and warning to new comers, as I tried to search here in the discussion but cannot find any.

Thanks and Cheers to all.

If you have same experience please comment so we can create awarenes..

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Hilarious! Choose your scam amount!

You need to read the ToS now and learn that you are not allowed to communicate outside of upwork before hire. 

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Hilarious! Choose your scam amount!

You need to read the ToS now and learn that you are not allowed to communicate outside of upwork before hire. 

Hi Martina,

Yes, you can choose how much money they can scam from you.