🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Employer is Asking Me to Sign an External...
Page options
coltenh
Community Member

Employer is Asking Me to Sign an External Contract

Hello everyone,

As the location states, I'm new to Upwork and have stumbled upon my first job opportunity. While initially excited, an interview rubbed me the wrong way and so I've decided to ask whether or not the job is legitimate on Upwork.

The interview itself was purely text. Nothing particularly strange about the questions themselves, but at the end I was asked to sign an external contract to be hired on the spot. It was my understanding that the only contract we would have to agree to would be sent via Upwork messaging. They also asked for my address earlier, but I declined to give it to them. I told them that I would not sign their contract (itself vague and only two pages long) until I have received the offer over Upwork.

Any insight from the professionals would be appreciated. Thank you all in advance.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Colten, and Susan, 

Susan, I'm so sorry to learn about your experience in Upwork. I'll go ahead and check if actions have already been taken against the client's account and their job post. 

Colten, as some of the Community members have shared, some clients may request freelancers to sign an external contract or an NDA. This should be fine as long as it doesn't violate any of Upwork's User Agreement. As for the request for your address, clients normally don't need this information and you can share with them your general location if that's a need. But, sharing your personal address is not something you should provide.

Susan, and Colten, I highly recommend that you read up the "Safety First!" section of the freelancer resources we have compiled, and these tips for avoiding questionable jobs for more information about working safely through Upwork.

~ Avery
Upwork

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
prestonhunter