🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Employer sending me a check for equipment pur...
Page options
b516ef19
Community Member

Employer sending me a check for equipment purchase?

Hi, I'm new to upwork and this is my first contract.  The employer wants me to purchase a laptop with malware which is totally reasonable for the job, however, I'm a little nervous that they are sending me a check to purchase the equipment rather than sending me equipment directly.  Has anyone run into this?  I don't have a problem using their equipment just nervous about being responsible for purchase with an new employer.  They have not asked me to send them any money so I don't think there is a problem from that perspective at all.  

12 REPLIES 12
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Ginny,

I’ve checked your report and the project has already been taken down because it was in violation of Upwork TOS and action has been taken on the client account. Please check this help article for crucial information that will help you have a safe and successful journey on Upwork.

Thank you! 

~ Bojan
Upwork
a_lipsey
Community Member

Ginny H wrote:

Hi, I'm new to upwork and this is my first contract.  The employer wants me to purchase a laptop with malware which is totally reasonable for the job, however, I'm a little nervous that they are sending me a check to purchase the equipment rather than sending me equipment directly.  Has anyone run into this?  I don't have a problem using their equipment just nervous about being responsible for purchase with an new employer.  They have not asked me to send them any money so I don't think there is a problem from that perspective at all.  

Did they ask this over Skype or Upwork messages. 

All communication has been through skype.  So I should just assume that the job is a fraud and start over?  

Ginny H wrote:

All communication has been through skype.  So I should just assume that the job is a fraud and start over?  

First, yes, the job is a fraud.