🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Ending a contract... Did I do it the right wa...
Page options
ikfreelance
Community Member

Ending a contract... Did I do it the right way?

Hello to You all fellow freelancers,

I just asked a client if they would like to end the contract, because I was feeling they were not giving me clear instructions on how to do the job... I had worked a few hours this past weekend and this week on the project, during these hours I was mainly focused on figuring out how to best do the job, as the PDF guides that were sent were not very clear, so I had a lot of questions.

I noticed that the client was impatient, so I offered her to cancel the contract. I also explained, that I would be ok with not receiving any payment for the hours, as long as I do get a positive feedback and not a negative one. Client accepted the offer and ended the contract. I am fairly new to upwork and I do not have any idea what so ever how to further proceed... I also do not have any finished projects yet and I am aware how bad a negative review would be for my account at this point. I feel like the instructions were not clear enough, so I had to ask questions. Eventhough I got 2 or 3 different manuals on how to do the job, most of the clarification was done in the upwork chat, which of course made it more difficult ot follow the procedures. Additinally, on the 2nd or 3rd day client decided to change the task/job...

I guess my first question is how you feel about what I did and whether this goes against the terms and conditions of upwork. I know I did my best, and I know I'm not stupid plus my German language is good, so I believe the fault was not at my end. However, I'd rather work for free for a few hours or days and not receive a negative feedback, than to explain to the client they are not doing their part on their end good enough. Am I wrong? Did I mess it up, or what you think?

I would appreciate your opinion/advise. Thanks a lot.

Greets,

Ivo

ACCEPTED SOLUTION