🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Escrow lower than milestone
Page options
grubaughjm
Community Member

Escrow lower than milestone

Hello,

I'm new to UpWork so if this doesn't make sense, that's why. I made a proposal for a job that doesn't require much effort or time, I figured it's a safe bet to see how this all works. Client wants definitions for 50 terms and agreed to $5/per definition. In the "interview" process I defined ten terms. I sent him only five with the request that if he was satisfied and wanted the additional five that the agreed fee (which is stated in the job description also) would apply and a contract would need to be created. 

He created a contract and set escrow at $5. Ok, I was expecting it set at $25 for the additional five terms. I submitted the work and billed for $25. This seems like it could bite me back somehow but I'm not really sure how. I've been very clear in my communications with client, reiterating the $5/per definition agreement. He got the first five as "freebies" because I didn't understand how it worked - ok, not a big deal, as I've stated, this job doesn't require much effort or time on my part. But did I just give him four as bonus too? Seems like I may have. Do we have the ability to bill more than escrowed amounts? Is that frowned upon somehow?

I want to make sure I understand before I do anything further. I've interviewed for a potential 6 month gig and will be initially accepting a contract for 3-4 hours of work for $200-250 before moving onto a longer term contract.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I can read and read until my eyes bleed but the only way I learn is through experience. I can see the potential in UpWork but I'm a risk manager by profession and it's screaming risk-loss-risk-potential loss-risk all over the place too. 

8 REPLIES 8
petra_r
Community Member

JM G wrote: