🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Ethics question
Page options
klm0506
Community Member

Ethics question

Hi! I am new to Upwork as a freelancer looking for jobs in the writing and editing field. After searching through jobs, I have a question about ethics. Any advice is greatly appreciated! There are many job postings in which 1. the client is looking for a freelancer to write their cover letter and/or resume for a particular job, and 2. the client wants a paper/essay written for them. Where do freelancers draw the line between helping a client with their writing and actually writing it *for them* in situations that would not be appropriate? Thank you!
8 REPLIES 8
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Kelsey M wrote:
Hi! I am new to Upwork as a freelancer looking for jobs in the writing and editing field. After searching through jobs, I have a question about ethics. Any advice is greatly appreciated! There are many job postings in which 1. the client is looking for a freelancer to write their cover letter and/or resume for a particular job, and 2. the client wants a paper/essay written for them. Where do freelancers draw the line between helping a client with their writing and actually writing it *for them* in situations that would not be appropriate? Thank you!

The line is where it becomes academic fraud.

Thanks for your insight, Martina. Academic fraud is exactly what I'm trying to avoid. I'll just steer clear of any job postings that ask the that the writing be done for them.

Kelsey, academic fraud is a huge problem on the platform.  When you see such jobs, please flag them.  Unfortunately, CS doesn't seem to understand that it is against the TOS to do "homework" for students but some of us valiantly continue to flag the jobs.  Hopefully, at some point the CS reps will begin to understand.

Thanks, Mary! I most certainly will flag them as I come across them.
yitwail
Community Member