mrsts2016

Excepting offer to freelance

I was offered a position to freelance with a company, they keep asking me where my bank is, I thought all payments are through Upworks, for security purposes and to cover my contract with them. I am not sure I am speaking with a legitamate person, and I am new to the process to accept jobs through upworks. Can anyone advise as to what to expect? I have looked for a contact person or chat with Upworks, but find nothing. 

thankful for any help,

Mrs. Hargrave

9 REPLIES 9
versailles

@Tina H wrote:

Can anyone advise as to what to expect?

You'll be scammed.

You should stop seeking jobs and read all the help material posted on this forum and in the help section. Once you understand how to use Upwork, only then you can safely work here.

-----------
"Where darkness shines like dazzling light"   —William Ashbless

Good day to you, 

I did not seek this job, I received and email from Upworks stating I had an offer to interview, that I had to set up google hangout and had an interview this morning about a position with this company. I did not give out personal information other than name and address, so will "scammers" have my information as to my location or otherwise. 

Sincerely, 

Tina 

Hi Tina,

I'm glad you came to the Community to check about it. It's a violation of Upwork ToS for the client to offer to pay outside of the platform and it's often a sign of scam. Please, check this post for more information about how to avoid questionable jobs and policy violations. 

I'll also have the team review the job you are referring to and take appropriate actions.

~ Valeria
Upwork