🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Extreme Lowballing. Is that the norm?
Page options
c2bba007
Community Member

Extreme Lowballing. Is that the norm?

I am new to freelancing on Upwork and have been reviewing jobs all day. I am in disbelief reading the job descriptions with long lists of demands and required skills for appallingly low rates. $6-8/hour for professional designers. $50 to edit a 100 page PowerPoint...who is taking on these jobs? Is that pretty normal on here? Are better jobs few and far between?

Not feeling good about this so far...

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
bespokejokebloke
Community Member

The way I look at it is that it's a bit like fishing; there are a lot more rocks, plastic bottles, and poop in the ocean than there are fish.  But if you know how and where to fish, plenty of fish exist.

Please ignore the garbage jobs; somebody else needs them.  There are plenty of people out there Turking who'd view $6 an hour as a reasonable rate. Focus on the smaller number of reasonably paid jobs and go for it.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
nickob
Community Member

Extreme lowballing is unfortunately not uncommon on freelancing platforms like Upwork, where clients can post jobs with very low rates and freelancers are often competing against each other for work. While there are certainly good clients and jobs to be found on Upwork, it can take some time and effort to find them.

It's important to remember that as a freelancer, you set your own rates and should not feel obligated to work for rates that are below your worth. Instead, focus on finding clients who value your skills and are willing to pay a fair rate for your work. You can also consider targeting clients in industries or niches where rates are generally higher, or building a portfolio of high-quality work that can help you stand out to potential clients.