🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Fake / Fraudulent Company
Page options
4eb65e63
Community Member

Fake / Fraudulent Company

I'm new to Upwork and finally received an interview request. I was excited any the opportunity but everything seemed strange about this process. 

1. The rep requested I download telegram and provided a contact number for me to reach out to someone

2. The interview was completely via text

3. The questions were generic and not specific to the role

4. The job offer was poorly written and lacked the professional touch

5. I found a website for the company, but it looks basic and couldn't retrieve any additional information. 

Has anyone experienced this before? Is there a way to report suspicious job postings or any support to validate real employers? 

6 REPLIES 6
MichaelJ
Community Member

Hi BJ,

I'm sorry that you encountered a scam. You can find a post about red flags for scams here. You can learn how our internal team is fighting these scams in this blog post. You can report a scam job posting by clicking the "Flag as inappropriate" link that appears in the right column on job postings.

Please keep in mind that communicating with clients outside of Upwork prior to a contract being created is a violation of the Terms of Service. You should not agree to talk to any client outside the tools provided on Upwork until they have sent you an offer and you have accepted it. To help keep you safe, we offer chat, live voice, live video, and asynchronous video options for communicating directly on Upwork.

Cheers,
Mike
c55d639e
Community Member