🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Fake job proposal
Page options
el_ba
Community Member

Fake job proposal

Hello,
I'm new to Upwork and I've submitted a few proposals. One of them is giving me problems, since the job offer showed a certain pay and conditions, but then the client wrote me in private telling me very different (and ridiculous) conditions. 
Now I feel like I've lost my Connects for a fake job I would never sent the proposal if I knew the truth, what can I do?

Also, I'm noticing that clients don't know how to make contracts to pay freelancers, is there a way I can explain it to them? I mean like direct proposals for a sketch to be verified before the ultimate work or so on.

Thank you so much,

Elena

3 REPLIES 3
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Elena B wrote:

Hello,
I'm new to Upwork and I've submitted a few proposals. One of them is giving me problems, since the job offer showed a certain pay and conditions, but then the client wrote me in private telling me very different (and ridiculous) conditions. 
Now I feel like I've lost my Connects for a fake job I would never sent the proposal if I knew the truth, what can I do?

Also, I'm noticing that clients don't know how to make contracts to pay freelancers, is there a way I can explain it to them? I mean like direct proposals for a sketch to be verified before the ultimate work or so on.

Thank you so much,

Elena

You are going about this the wrong way.

1. You are not allowed to communicate outside of upwork with potential clients before hire. If you stick to that, you will not receive offensive offers. 

2. If the client is already on upwork, the possibility of direct contracts does not exist any more for him. 

Don't try to explain anything to a client. If he has at least 1 job on his historic data, he knows how things work. 

Keep to this and you will not keep wasting your time! 

I'm sure I haven't explained well.