🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Finding legitimate clients
Page options
rquattrini
Community Member

Finding legitimate clients

Hi all! 

I'm new to UpWork (3 days in), and so far I have burned through a lot of Connects trying to find some work. I need it desperately. I've received 3 replies, all scams. Two have had links to OneDrive files with a page about a Skype interview and emails for folks on protonmail (big clue there). The one that came in the middle was for a DropBox file, but they all three had the same phrasing - "add up the director." Obviously they're scams. 

So how do you find legitimate clients who aren't going to try to take you off UpWork? I can't afford to waste money applying for jobs with scammers. My kids need a roof over their heads and I need to work to make that happen. After the first scam I tried to read the postings really carefully to look for clues that they weren't real. Not having any previous jobs looks suspicious, but everyone has to start somewhere and I didn't want to miss out on a job for which I was qualified just because a client was new to UpWork, too. 

What do I need to look for? Also, when a real client wants to make a connection, is a Skype interview legitimate? I thought this process would be straightforward, but now it seems that I have to be really on my guard. 

Thanks for your help.

-Rebecca

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MichaelJ
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Rebecca,

I'm sorry to hear that you've had trouble with the proposals you've submitted. One thing I can suggest is to ensure the client has a verified billing method prior to submitting a proposal. You can check the verification status in the search results or on the job posting. You will see text that says "Payment verified" and a blue or green badge with a white checkmark.

Screenshot from May 7, 2020 1_58 PM.png

I hope this helps and that things improve for you.

Thanks,

Mike

Cheers,
Mike

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
MichaelJ