🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » First Bad Review - Next Steps
Page options
bettesolo
Community Member

First Bad Review - Next Steps

Hello Community,

I am new to Upwork and have completed a total of five jobs, four of which received five stars! My fifth job was a quick turn around, 250-word article. I finished the job and was asked to write two more pieces (in less than 24 hours). 

I completed the items for the client 15 hours ahead of the deadline and communicated that I was available to make edits or revise as needed. (I am eager to please new clients because of my newbie status in this community.)

My contract ended abruptly, I received payment, and then I saw this feedback (see below), receiving no further messages from the client.

I have issued the client a refund with my apologies. I wish that the client had communicated their dissatisfaction with the articles before posting such a review. 

Did I do the right thing by issuing the client a refund? 

Thank you. 

Feedback Client's feedback

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Only you can know if it was the right thing to do.  The public feedback will vanish after the refund has been processed, but the contract will count as unsuccessful in your metrics, thiswill probably cost you your Rising Talent status and eventually affect your JSS when you get it.

I am more concerned about some your other contracts. You were writing Google, Yelp etc reviews?

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
petra_r
Community Member

Only you can know if it was the right thing to do.  The public feedback will vanish after the refund has been processed, but the contract will count as unsuccessful in your metrics, thiswill probably cost you your Rising Talent status and eventually affect your JSS when you get it.

I am more concerned about some your other contracts. You were writing Google, Yelp etc reviews?

Editing reviews written by clients so that the company could post them to