🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » First contract - no payment
Page options
belowska-joanne
Community Member

First contract - no payment

Hi!

I am kinda newbie here. I had my first contract - manually logged hours (I know it wasnt smart but I didn't know about the timer app and client said it's ok); anyway - I ended the contract, Client said everything is great, gave me 5 stars but still hasnt accepted the job done - contract is "in review" for more than a week. And no answer. So it looks like I'm not going to get paid. Any tips? What to do?Communication was via Upwork.To be honest - this is my first experience here and from the very beginning I feel deceived. Don't know what to think about this platform and its users 😞 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
nkocendova
Community Member

Hi Joanne,

Congratulations on completing your first job! I'd like to clarify a few things to help you better understand what is happening here. Since this was an hourly contract, there is a process that takes place from the time the contract ends to the time that you receive your earnings. Hourly contracts are billed according to the weekly billing cycle, so since you ended your contract last week, this week on Monday your client will have been invoiced for any hours that you logged last week. Then there will be a standard 5 day security period, during which time a client is able to review the work you did. This is by design and not something that your client has requested. You can also take a look at this article for more information about getting paid for Hourly Contracts. Hope that helps clear things up!

~Nina

View solution in original post

19 REPLIES 19
nkocendova
Community Member

Hi Joanne,