🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » First job
Page options
dmitriy-92
Community Member

First job

Hi community users!

I am new at upwrork about 3 months and still can't get first job.

Maybe there is some tips for getting first job or there is something wrong with my profile.

Criticism is welcome.

5 REPLIES 5
emonuzzamanmd
Community Member

Hey, I have visited your profile. I think there are some areas where you need to make some improvement. Add some intro about yourself in your general profile. Try to add some additional information like your school or graduation. Try to put some info about your previous employee. I will advise you to visit some TopRated Freelancer profile in your skill area, gain some knowledge about a well-organized profile. Then make a good profile.

The next point is your cover letter. 

Never use a canned cover letter.

Read the job description before submitting a proposal. Try to add some portfolio or sample of your previous work which is related to the job description. Try to understand the client's requirements and according to the requirements write a cover letter. I think the cover letter is the key to get a job in upwork. Try response quickly when your client knocks you for interview. 

That's most of all. 

Best wishes for landing in your first job.

joansands
Community Member

I think you need to rewrite your introduction to your profile and focus and spell out what you can do for a client. The first two sentences are crucial in grabbing the interest of a potential client. What do your potential clients need the most? Spell out how you can fulfill that need.

nabes
Community Member

Dont sweat it Dmitry, I was on here and on Fiverr for about 3 months or so before I got my first job. Now Ive gotten a few from both sites and I keep applying for new ones, sometime it just effort, a good profile, solid cover letter and some smart work.

You will get there eventually!