🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Freelance Personal Assistant
Page options
vera_manukainiu
Community Member

Freelance Personal Assistant

Hello,

My name is Vera, I am new to Upwork. I wanted to ask anyone in the community for their opinion that I have came across and am a bit hesitant about.

I got an offering from an Architect to be his personal virtual assistant. As for a brief list of task i would be doing, he asked me if I have any credit card debt, I do and told him I do. I didnt tell him any other information. He went on to send me his banking information, as in his account number and routing number and asked me to go ahead and pay my credit card debt and send him a screenshot of the transaction. He said he aded my name to his acount and is wating for me to go thru with the payment.

I am a bit hesitant as i tried to get more informatio out of him all i could get was that he is located in Ohio.

Has anyone came across this before, should i go thru with this?

Thanks, Vera

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

It's probably a stolen account, so you would be committing a crime first of all. Second, he would probably then try to convince you to buy things on your card and send it to him or just give him gift cards or something.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

Wow.

No.

This is nutty.

Vera:

When was the last time you went to the grocery store, and while you were at the checkout stand purchasing milk and flour, you asked the clerk if she had any credit card debt, and then you offered to pay off her credit card debt?

Or you were getting a haircut at the salon and asked the hair stylist if you could pay off his credit card debt?

Does this make any sense to you?

I am not going to give a stranger on the Internet access to my banking information.

AND ALSO: